Skip to content

The world’s smallest veg patch – a radish anyone?

September 13, 2010

Right, that’s it. I can’t sit around and wait for the ruddy planners to come back from their cruises. It’s been nearly 5 months and still we don’t have planning permission, and still the garden lays derelict.

So I decided to take action this weekend. I’ve always wanted to have an allotment, so I’ve decided to turn some of our garden into one, on a temporary basis.

I had a two hour, child-free slot so I got stuck in, cup of coffee close by.

A quick shuffle around the internet and various gardening sites told me that radishes and spinach are about the only thing I can sow now. So that’s exactly what I did. And I found some rocket seeds I could sow too.

The dog looks on. Unimpressed at being evicted from his spot on my nicely raked and warm soil.

And here’s the finished product.

And for the very first time in my life, I actually want it to rain.

Tomorrow  I have to go to the house and meet someone from the council there. They don’t believe we’re not living there and so won’t give us a rebate on our council tax. The lady is coming to check we’re not in residence. Surely she could have just gone down the corridor and checked with our case officer in the planning department who’s already been to the house? No, that would be far too cost efficient. Much better to waste more time.

This is the house that awaits her and in which she thinks we’re living in. The washing facilities.

Shall I offer to make her a cup of tea?

 

My husband’s lost the remote control in the sitting room. Sigh.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 25, 2010 3:43 pm

    Hi Emma, just stumbled across your website by accident while googling ‘amateur gardening’! I’m actually trying to find the address for the Amateur Gardening magazine, but I’ll get back to that in a minute.
    We’ve just launched our website to showcase our new gardening software, which is geared towards inexperienced gardeners. It may be helpful for you – have a look. But we also plan to add blogs from time to time. Only one (and a half) blogs so far but you have to start somewhere.
    Good luck with your renovations,
    Gaynor

Trackbacks

  1. We have lift off! Just no builders now… « A cup of tea and a slice of life
  2. It’s all about a good foundation, my grandmother used to say « A cup of tea and a slice of life

Leave a Reply

