Skip to content

Planning the interior – why white is right

June 1, 2010

With progress on the house renovation still at a standstill and frustration increasing, I’ve decided that planning the interior is the best way to stay motivated about the whole project.

We want to go for a very minimalist, clean look to the house. And given most, if not all, of our budget is being swallowed up by the design and building work, there’s virtually nothing left for the interior decorations, fixtures and fittings. So it’s very lucky indeed that we like white paint!

When we first saw the enormous estimate the architect gave us we jokingly said to him ‘Oh well we’ll just whitewash the walls throughout the house.’ But the more we thought about it, the more we realised that whitewashed walls are exactly the look we want. 

And when I came across the wonderful work of Swedish architects Claesson Koivisto Rune I was even more certain that the interior palette for our house should be white, white and just to brighten things up, a dash more white.  

I love the dash of red here and the bleached wooden floor:

I was thinking white kitchens were very last season, but this makes me think again:

The red chairs make the white look even more vibrant. I absolutely love this room:

More of the fabulous kitchen:

And finally…..If only I could persuade my husband our bedroom should be as peaceful and as clutter-free as this one:

I will now be more than happy to go and buy several very large tins of cheap white paint. And I’ll spend my money and invest in pieces like those red chairs instead.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Melissa permalink
    June 5, 2010 3:16 pm

    I love white kitchens. I know they are not desperately fashionable at the moment but to my mind, as long as you get one with flat fuss-free doors and easily changeable handles, they never really go out of date and you can change the colours of the walls whenever you like to change up your colour scheme. My kitchen is completely white and I love it – clean, clinical but accessorised with some nice plants and colourful linen and it all comes to life.

    • Emma Drew permalink*
      June 10, 2010 10:56 am

      I agree Melissa, it’s those splashes of colour that can really make the difference and bring vibrancy to the room.

  2. Alix Klein permalink
    June 10, 2010 3:57 pm

    As a life long fan of white (I would wear all white all the time if it were practical) I love my all-white kitchen and white home. We’re also revovating at the moment- to create even more white space! The beauty of white is that it looks different at different times of day and with different types of lighting. As well as splashes of colour, you can also use different textures to provide contrast.
    Re paint- Farrow & Ball do beautiful white paints. I think they are lower in chemicals so nice for little ones…

    • Emma Drew permalink*
      June 10, 2010 4:26 pm

      Good recommendation re F & B paints, Alix, and thankyou for visiting my blog! Hope you’re really well, long time no see!

  3. June 11, 2010 7:48 pm

    Ah yes, white is the perfect backdrop. I currently live in a house with too much magnolia, not the same thing at all, you have inspired me to tolerate it no longer, this week I will be buying paint.

    I just discovered your blog and I am very much enjoying reading through.

Trackbacks

  1. Why white is right: part 2 « A cup of tea and a slice of life

Leave a Reply

