Skip to content

The novice planthunter begins her search

March 20, 2010

Pulling up the blinds this morning I was hoping for glorious Spring sunshine to accompany me on my dog walk in Battersea Park (with the all-important stop-off for coffee half way round).

I was greeted with drizzle and greyness. But I wasn’t going to let that dampen my Saturday morning spirits. So hatted and booted I set off. With the garden renovation project at the forefront of my mind, I was particularly on the lookout for flowers and plants that caught my eye.

First up was this lovely winter flowering shrub (I need to look up the name, and my next job is to unearth my copy of the RHS Plant Finder out of our storage unit.). I always stop and smell the flowers on this plant – they have a pretty scent which is unusual at this time of year.

Close up, I love the look and smell of the flowers. But standing back, the shrub is straggly and ungainly. Too unkempt for our small London garden I think.

My eye was really caught by these. I love the blue-green foliage contrasted with the vibrant lime green of the flowers. These are definitely going on my plant ‘wish list’ for the new garden.

And worthy of another photo.

And finally, although I don’t think our garden is going to be big enough for trees of any sort, I couldn’t resist snapping the first white blossom. Even on a drizzly day it makes you feel better!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2010 2:41 pm

    lonicera fragrantissima – winter flowering honeysuckle, and one of my faves too. (along with cornus mas – the Cornelian Cherry)

    Spurge! Lovely colour and very archetectural, BUT take care – the milky sap can cause horrid skin blisters (my OH has banned me from planting it cos he knows I’ll get all glum and sulky if my hands erupt in blisters again – and it makes it painful to work too)

    Japonica – the Japanese Quince. The white flowered one is elegant, and there are all shades of pink, red and orange/red flowered ones too. Ooooo and you can make a jelly preserve with the fruit 🙂

    Now, off to have a nice cup of tea – don’t think we have any cake though 😦
    Celia

  2. Mary Bailey permalink
    May 1, 2010 12:51 pm

    Wow, the photgraphs are stunning. As a keen amateur gardener I admire them and as budding artist, I can’t wait to copy them. Thankyou.

    Mary Bailey
    Wickford, Essex, U.K.
    English Garden

  3. May 28, 2010 2:39 pm

    Hi Emma, I just came across this as clicked through to your blog from Twitter (I just replied to your tweet about fab bathrooms, with a link to a gorgeous property in Bali, with bathroom overlooking the jungle tree-tops!)

    Anyhooo, read on to this and thought I’d let you know that the plant with the lime-green flowers is a type of Euphorbia – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Euphorbia. I have this exact one in my garden. I didn’t plant it, I have to admit, we were lucky and inherited a fabulously kept garden from the previous owners.

    She also left a very comprehensive ‘garden file’ with instructions and print-outs, hence, I know what this is!

    It started to sprout the lime-green flowers around the end of March and it is indeed a very striking, exotic-looking plant, even without the flowers.

    You can see it in the bottom left of this photo here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/sarahch1978/3839454563/in/set-72157622094029272/

    Happy gardening!
    Sarah

  4. May 28, 2010 2:43 pm

    Meant to add, I think the exact type is this one: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Euphorbia_cyparissias or ‘Cyprus Spruge’. Crocus (the site the previous owner left many print-outs from!!) – seem to have a good range of other types, if not this exact one: http://www.crocus.co.uk/search/_/search.Cypress-Spurge/

Leave a Reply

