Skip to content

Starting with all good intentions…and a cup of coffee

March 18, 2010

Coffee is my weakness. Well that is a really fantastic coffee. I think it’s become more of an obsession since I’ve been pregnant. If I can’t enjoy several glasses of good wine, then I’m like a bloodhound posessed in my pursuit of the ultimate cup of coffee each day. Luckily the office I work in has the Rolls Royce of coffee machines that produces the Maserati of cappucinos. Heaven.

But back to the point. The garden.

With spring having hit London this week with its air of wonderful optimism and several degrees more warmth, my thoughts are turning firmly to our ‘garden’ and the project it’s going to be. I’ve put out several messages of ‘help! help!’ on gardening forums to garner the support of the friendly gardening folk out there. We’ll see what that brings.

In the meantime, here’s a reminder of what I’m faced with.

And here’s me making my first inroads into tackling the project. Well I wasn’t in the office today…

Tomorrow we meet the architect to see his first set of drawings for the house. Excitement levels are definitely a little higher than they probably should be with only 4 weeks until D-Day.

Web hits: racking up a steady 1000 a day. Getting to the critical 2000 mark is going to be hard. And I’ve only got a few weeks of work left before I’m then fitting it in around the new arrival.

Today’s observation: The antenatal classes I was dreading weren’t as bad as I’d anticipated. But the best moment was right at the end of the intensive 2 days because – not only was it the end – but George stole the show with his winning performance in the nappy changing competition. Picture the scene: 8 enthusiastic wives cheering on 8 grown men changing nappies on plastic babies with mustard smothered on their bottoms (the babies that is, not the men). I kid you not.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2010 9:48 pm

    Goodness me that is quite a project, and while pregnant too!? Get a man in. Gardens Illustrated seems as good a place to start as any. You seem undaunted and I will look forward to following your progress.

    • Emma Drew permalink*
      March 18, 2010 9:50 pm

      Thanks Lia! Sadly I’ve got a man in, my husband – but he’s as much of an amateur as me! But we hope our enthusiasm for the project makes up for our lack of knowledge. It’s going to be fun….most of the time.
      Look forward to having you on board from afar!
      Emma

  2. March 29, 2010 12:18 pm

    Oh good Lord, what are you going to do with all that foilage?

    • Emma Drew permalink*
      March 29, 2010 1:18 pm

      Scratch my head. Scratch my head some more. And then probably put the kettle on. Hopefully by that stage the husband will then give in and enter stage left with a large chainsaw!

Leave a Reply

